How to obtain a California Marriage License for South Lake Tahoe
California Marriage License Information
To be legally married in the State of California, you must purchase a marriage license and have a marriage ceremony performed. The cost is $75 and does not include a certified copy of the marriage certificate, which is an additional $13 and will be provided once your request has been sent in by US mail. No blood test is required and there is no waiting period. The marriage license may be obtained up to one year prior to the ceremony.
If your wedding is in California, we can issue the marriage license to you and it's included in our Elopement Package.
If either of you have been divorced within 90 days from the date of the wedding, you must also provide a copy of the divorce papers. Both the bride and groom need to be present with photo IDs at the signing. Both Bride & Groom must be 18 years or older.
If you provide your own California Marriage License, you must also provide a witness. We can provide a witness for $25 with advance notice.
More info about obtaining a marriage license for Lake Tahoe here
Marriage License Issuance
Public and Confidential Marriage licenses and certificates are available at the Recorder-Clerk's office. Public Marriage Licenses are issued between the hours of 8 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. and again between 3:00 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. Both parties must be present to receive a license. Fee Schedule and FAQ on Marriage License Issuance.
Note: Marriage Licenses and Ceremonies are done by appointment. If you do not have an appointment, you may wait for an opening; however, it could be up to two hours if appointments are ahead of you, so please inquire at the counter or call us:
Marriage Licenses can be paid by Cash, Money Order or ATM ($2.50 fee)
Placerville: (530) 621-5495
South Lake Tahoe: (530) 573-3409
Location and Hours
Nevada Marriage License Information
If your wedding is in Nevada you must obtain your NV Marriage License at the County Clerk's office. No blood test is required and no waiting period. The fee is $55 and does not include a certified copy of the marriage certificate, which is an additional $10 per copy.
You must also have a witness to sign the Marriage License. We can provide a witness for $25 with advance notice. Both the bride and groom need to be present with photo I.D., must be 18 years or older. If you are under 18 the law requires a parent to be present or a notarized affidavit giving permission if necessary.
Obtain your NV marriage license at the Douglas County Admin. Bldg., 175 Hwy 50, 2nd Fl. Stateline, NV 775-586-7226. Click here for more wedding license information.
To ask about how to start planning your Lake Tahoe wedding please email us or call (800) 544-6193